Today I spent the day in Ubud. And I got reminded of what it feels like to fall in love with a city. Or better put with a place.

Ubud is special – noisy but artsy, busy but filled with culture. Lots of small streets you can get lost on. I think I even like it more than Melaka. But in my present mood I could not survive a whole day in this chaos though. So I was really happy to go on a 8.5km hike in surrounding villages. Which is when I realised that I could definitely stay more in Bali.

I just loved the vibes of the villages and of the green rice paddies so close to the city. I loved that the locals were sowelcoming, still trying to sell you things but way more willing to engage in normal conversation when their first aim failed. I loved the fact that every entrance looks like a temple but when you get in you see it’s just a house or a school or something. I love the Balinese door carvings. I love that my malay helps me understand basic things and make small conversation. And I love that they have proper coffee!!!